Should the CFO report to the CEO or the Board of Directors?

This is a discussion I recently started on LinkedIn. The basis of this question is that when the CFO reports to the CEO, their continued employment often hinges on telling the CEO “the right thing” when it comes to ideas the CEO has.  This conflict of interest is especially serious in a public company where the CFO can literally go to jail for producing false financial statements.

The responses to my question were very interesting. They ranged from: “The CFO just needs to do their job. If they lose their job, so be it” to “I agree as I have lost my CFO job in the past for refusing to do something the CEO wanted to do”.

I also asked the question as to whether a CFO should have some type of severance contract clause that would protect them financially if they refuse to do something the CEO wanted to do, and subsequently lose their job.

What do you think?

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Should the CFO report to the CEO or the Board of Directors?”

  1. Twitted by MyWhistleTweet Says:

    […] This post was Twitted by MyWhistleTweet […]

  2. Tweets that mention Should the CFO report to the CEO or the Board of Directors? « MyWhistle.com Blog -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Trish Garringer, MyWhistle.com. MyWhistle.com said: Is there a conflict with the CFO reporting to the CEO, or should they report to the Board? Join the discussion at http://wp.me/pM21M-j […]

  3. focus on the family Says:

    I have to show thanks to you just for bailing me out
    of such a issue. Because of looking out through the online world and finding opinions which are not beneficial, I figured my entire life was done.
    Existing without the presence of solutions to the issues you have
    fixed as a result of the site is a serious case, and the kind that would have badly affected my career if I had not discovered your blog post.

    Your own personal talents and kindness in maneuvering
    all the stuff was invaluable. I am not sure what I would’ve done if I had not come
    upon such a stuff like this. I am able to at this moment
    relish my future. Thanks a lot very much for your high quality and effective help.
    I won’t be reluctant to propose your web site to anybody who wants and needs
    tips about this subject.

  4. หนัง18+ Says:

    This site really has all of the info I wanted
    about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  5. rammazyfamily.com Says:

    rammazyfamily.com

    Should the CFO report to the CEO or the Board of Directors? | MyWhistle.com Blog

Leave a Reply

